Miami-Dade County Public Schools
Alumni Hall of Fame

On February 11, 2017, Miami-Dade County Public Schools welcomed seven new members to its Alumni Hall of Fame. Hundreds of South Florida leaders joined in celebrating these great Miamians during the second annual "For the Love of Learning" gala benefiting the Foundation for New Education Initiatives, Inc. The seven were inducted earlier that evening in a more intimate ceremony. We hope you enjoy this tribute to them.  


A panel of community leaders met and chose by consensus

the following alumni in established categories:


We thank the 2016 Hall of Fame judges for their

diligent deliberations and wise choices

                       Dr. Eldredge “Biff” Bermingham, Chief Science Officer                     Dr. Dorothy J. Fields, Historian/Founder
                    Miami Sciene Museum                                                             Black Archives Historic Lyric Theater Cultural Arts Complex


                       Ms. Marialaura Leslie, Chief of Strategic Initiatives                            Dr. Tina Menendez, Vice President, Education
                   Miami-Dade County Department of Cultural Affairs                         HistoryMiami

                       Mr. Joe Oglesby                                                                                                  Mr. Jose Sotolongo, Executive Director

                      Subscriptions for Success                                                                        Miami-Dade Sports Commission

                                     Mr. William D. Talbert III, President & CEO                                             
                                  Greater Miami Convention & Visitors Bureau                                          


Nilo Cruz

Pulitzer Prize-winning Playwright

Miami Senior High (Class of 1978)

Shenandoah Junior High

Melrose Elementary


Alina Falcon

Executive Vice-President

FIFA World Cup Programming


   Miami Killian Senior High (Class of 1979)
Richmond Heights Junior High

Southside Elementary


Michael Spring

Director, Miami-Dade County Department of Cultural Affairs

Miami Edison High 

(Class of 1970)

Little River Elementary

Ivan Yaeger



Miami Central Senior High (Class of 1984)

Miami Shores Elementary


Larry Little

Pro Football Great

Booker T. Washington High School (Class of 1964)

Paul Laurence Dunbar Elementary 

Phillis Wheatley Elementary 

Singular Achievement

Arva Moore Parks



Miami Edison High (Class of 1956)

Riverside Elementary



Garth Reeves, Sr.

Newspaper Publisher/Civil Rights Leader


Booker T. Washington High (Class of 1936)