Alumni Hall of Fame Inductees

On October 8, 2012, hundreds of well-wishers gathered at the New World Center in Miami Beach to celebrate fourteen great Miamians and the great teachers who most inspired their success.  Those 14 individuals - the inaugural inductees into the new Miami-Dade County Public Schools Alumni Hall of Fame - exemplify the very best in human achievement, as do the teachers they chose to be recognized alongside them.  As such, they all represent the very best of Miami-Dade County and its public schools.


Browse through the Commemorative Induction Ceremony Program, browse through each Inducteee Profile, or click on the names of our inductees for an audiovisual tribute to them.  Read and listen, learn and enjoy - and, most of all, be inspired by our rich tradition of excellence.

Arts & Entertainment                                                                                   Andy Garcia; Oscar-nominated Actor



Jeffrey Preston Bezos; Founder & CEO, Amazon                      


Public Service

Bob Graham; U.S. Senator, Florida Governor


Science, Technology, Engineering & Math

Wendy Chung; Molecular Geneticist


Singular Achievement

Dorothy Jenkins Fields; Historian, Preservationist



Andre Dawson; Baseball Hall of Famer


Special Citation

Dominic Lee Gorie; Commander, Space Shuttle Discovery

William B. Lenoir; Astronaut, Space Shuttle Columbia

Thomas K. Mattingly; Astronaut, Apollo 16

Winston Scott; Astronaut, Space Shuttle Endeavour


Local Heroes  

Juan del Busto; Federal Reserve Bank Regional Executive

Barrington Irving; Aviator, Aviation Educator

Ron Magill; Naturalist, Wildlife Educator

Brad Meltzer; Bestselling Author


We thank the 2012 Hall of Fame judges for their diligent deliberations and wise choices.


Ms. Sheila Womble, Executive Director                                                    Mr. Robert McCammon, President and CEO
Arts for Learning                                                                                        History Miami


Mr. Timothy A. Barber, Executive Director                                                Mr. Raymond Santiago, Director
Black Archives History & Research Foundation of South Florida             Miami-Dade County Public Library


Mr. William D. Talbert III, President & CEO                                               Mr. Michael Sophia, Executive Director
Greater Miami Convention & Visitors Bureau                                            Miami-Dade Sports Commission