Family and Community Involvement

Advisory Committee (FCIAC)

The Family and Community Involvement Advisory Committee was established in 1993 to support the work of the Miami-Dade County Public Schools' Office of Community Engagement.  Under School Board Policy 2111, PARENTAL INVOLVEMENT - A HOME-SCHOOL-DISTRICT PARTNERSHIP, the Committee is authorized to assess the progress in implementing this policy using outcome based data, including, but not limited to, the School Climate Survey and the Educational Engagement Survey, and will make written recommendations for improvement.  The Committee may undertake specific projects which are within the scope of its purpose.

 

There will be 37 voting members, a majority of whom will be persons not employed by Miami-Dade County Public Schools

 

Monthly meetings are open to the public and are currently being hosted virtually. 

Frequently Asked Questions

About Homework

Parent Representatives

North Region Representation

Yanet Cruz                                  yanetcruz0228@gmail.com

Jocelyn Ferguson                 jocelynnferguson@gmail.com

Maiky Perez de Corcho              maikyrealtor@live.com

Alternate

Meriel Seymore                             mcseymore@aol.com

Central Region Representation

Jerome Thomas                           tbone_bull12@yahoo.com

Flavia Pedrosa                                  fbocaiuva@gmail.com

Laura Crenshaw-Philpot               lphilpot47@gmail.com

South Region Representation

Ashley Jones                        ashley@alarmandelectronics.com

Merjam Renata                                remerjam@gmail.com

Sahatoo Davindrel                        amallyrs@comcast.net 

Alternate

Ana Lisa Claps                                   the3mchick@aol.com

Citizens Coalition for Public Education

Lisa Robertson                                 lisa_robertson@yahoo.com

 

Miami-Dade County Council PTA-PTSA

Dr. Nancy Lawther                                nllawther@gmail.com

 

Title I DAC

Joseph Gebara                                 jedisongebara@gmail.com

 

Supt.’s Advisory Panel for Students with Exceptionalities
Enrique Escallon                          enrique.escallon@suntrust.com